[Women in Science] Professor Derya Malak, expert in Wireless Communications, Communication Systems Department, EURECOM

EURECOM Communication
2 min readMar 7, 2022
Professor Derya Malak

1. Why did you choose to pursue the career of engineering?

DM. I chose to pursue a career in academia as a consequence of various factors and people, including my mother and my primary school teacher. Math was always my favourite subject and I was very fortunate to be admitted to the science high school in my hometown. That school provided the basis for my future, where my classmates were all very competitive and challenged me to learn theoretical concepts deeper and get better in my classes. That place was also where I decided study Electrical Engineering at Middle East Technical University (METU), where I also hold a minor in Physics. I chose engineering over other fields (science, literature, medicine) because I thought that was the only area where I felt the happiest and the most confident and liked contributing to the community. Studying Engineering at METU was one of the best decisions in my life.

2. What obstacles did you have to overcome to achieve your goal, especially as a female professor in engineering?

DM. The obstacles were mainly the same. For example, the academic job market is extremely competitive, and once in a while, everybody fails. Dealing with multitasking, e.g., research papers, projects, managing collaborations, students, classes, and research, and trying again after multiple failures is something I work on. Being an academic is a life choice, not to be overcome. The more you try to go the opposite way of the mainstream, the more you have to be open to criticism.

As a female professor, I have not yet seen many challenges. I was supported by my mentors who appreciated my efforts as a female who struggles to achieve the best she can. I would not complain if I was surrounded by more female colleagues. After so many years of being one of the only females in my work environment, it (unfortunately) does not bother me anymore. I believe that high schools and colleges have a crucial role in encouraging females to pursue an academic career. Some institutions have the Rising Stars Program to support underrepresented groups.

3. What is the message you would like to give to young girls for following a career in science and engineering?

DM. They should pursue their dreams and enjoy the freedom of drawing their own path. There is no one else in this world to know better what you can do the best. Because nobody is perfect and failures are not escapable, we can find the best combination of role models and working habits. Another suggestion is not to overlook the recent developments and paradigm shifters.

--

--

EURECOM Communication

Graduate school & Research Center in digital science with a strong international perspective, located in the Sophia Antipolis technology park.